HPCO’s Health Care Consent Advance Care Planning Community of Practice (HCC ACP CoP) Regional Champions

Online English

HCC ACP Regional Champion Position Description 

HPCO’s Health Care Consent & Advance Care Planning Regional Champions are volunteers within the Hospice Palliative Care Ontario Health Care Consent Advance Care Planning Community of Practice (HPCO HCC ACP CoP) who are appointed by HPCO as recognized champions in HCC ACP GoC in Ontario.  The designation is received following the successful completion of a 45-hour training/mentorship program by the CoP Leadership Team.  A minimum of 1-4 Regional Champions exist across each of the 14 LHIN areas. 

HCC ACP Regional Champion Role: 

The Regional Champion demonstrates interest and capacity to participate with organizations/ stakeholders/partners in an effort to engage, educate, support, mentor and influence HCC & ACP initiatives within their local area/region.    

The role of a Regional Champion includes ongoing commitment to:  

  •  Provide support and information that will support local HCC ACP initiatives while ensuring compliance with the Ontario Legal Framework. 
  •  Provide education and create awareness of available resources to local providers.    
  •  Participate in local HCC ACP CoP material reviews. 
  • Connect and engage with the HCC ACP CoP General Membership as well as other relevant partners in their LHIN area.
  • Be an HCC ACP conduit (i.e., for communications, collaborations, leverage opportunities etc.,) between the local area/region and the HCC ACP CoP.
  • Meet with the Regional Champion committee a minimum of quarterly to provide a forum for information exchange, knowledge transfer and share information about HCC ACP initiatives within the Ontario framework. and to promote the recommended Ontario tools and resources and build awareness. 
  • Be vigilant and exemplary in sharing resources, to ensure consistency with Ontario legal framework.
  • Use tools and resources provided to Regional Champions (meetings, SharePoint site etc.) to engage in their own continual training and growth. 

Important note: Any materials, information and/or support provided by HPCO’s HCC ACP CoP Regional Champions are for educational purposes only.  It is not intended as legal advice.  Anyone with specific questions about any legal matter, should consult with their lawyer or professional legal service provider.  

Application & Training: 

An expression of interest for applicants is released by HPCO an annual basis (typically Spring).  Successful applicants are those who demonstrate interest and capacity and are supported in this role by their workplace.   

The 45-hour training/mentorship program consists of:  

  • 2 one-hour teleconference meetings with an HCC ACP leadership team member and other Regional Champion candidates 
  • Ongoing communication with mentor 
  • Completion of 3 assignments, including: 

1. Review of Ontario specific literature/resources (estimated completion time: 16 hours) 

2. Mock HCC ACP resource review (estimated completion time: 10 hours) 

3. HCC ACP resource review (estimated completion time: 16 hours) 

  •   Endorsement by the HPCO HCC ACP CoP Leadership Team following completion of 100% of the course including a final quiz  
  •   Appointment by HPCO 

The Regional Champion application period is now open for Spring 2020, click here to apply.

 

HPCO’s HCC ACP Regional Champions

LHIN Name Email
ESC (1) Lisa Durocher Lisa.Durocher@lafht.ca
ESC (1)  Kate Wammes kate.wammes@lafht.ca
ESC (1) Cindy Stokes CindyStokes1@hotmail.com
ESC (1) Janet Elder janet.elder@sjhc.london.on.ca 
ESC (1) Maureen Eyres meyres@chathamkenthospice.com
South West (2) Patrice Kean patrice.kean@lhins.on.ca
South West (2) Launa Elliott launa.elliott@lhsc.on.ca
South West (2) Kenneth Hook jkhook@wightman.ca
South West (2)
Faria Rubab fariarubab@yahoo.com
Waterloo Wellington (3) Sheli O’Connor sheli@hospicewaterloo.ca
Waterloo Wellington (3) Barbara Blocki Barbara.Blocki@lhins.on.ca
HNHB (4) Carma Mackenzie cmackenzie@hospiceniagara.ca
HNHB (4) Kim Rogers kim.rogers@lhins.on.ca
HNHB (4) Julie Coulson jcoulson@seniorsupport.ca
HNHB (4) Mahoganie Hines mhines@hospiceniagara.ca
Central West (5) Trudy Mulder-Hall Trudy.Mulderhall@lhins.on.ca
Central West (5) Aleksandra Grzeszczuk aleksandra.grzeszczuk@siennaliving.ca
Central West (5) Dorothy Tsang dtsang@ppsmctoronto.com
Mississauga Halton (6) Villy Simonetta vsimonetta@acclaimhealth.ca
Mississauga Halton (6) Lia Musetti lmusetti@acclaimhealth.ca
Toronto Central (7) Dr Ebru Kaya ebru.kaya@uhn.ca
Toronto Central (7) Rose-Marie Fraser Rose-Marie.Fraser@uhn.ca
Toronto Central (7) Melissa Devlin melissa.j.devlin@gmail.com
Toronto Central (7) Julie Huynh julie.huynh@mail.utoronto.ca
Central (8) Megan Rochford mrochford@matthewshousehospice.ca
Central (8) Judy Murray JMurray@southlakeregional.org
Central (8) Karen McMahon karen.mcmahon@lhins.on.ca
Central (8) Amanda Adams AAdams@msh.on.ca
Central East (9) Amy Archer amy.archer@von.ca
Central East (9) Kayleen McKenzie kmckenzie@nhh.ca
South East (10)  Jenni-Ann Logan Jenni-Ann.Logan@lhins.on.ca
South East (10)  Kimberley Volk kimberley.volk@lhins.on.ca
Champlain (11)  Nadine Valk nvalk@champlainpalliative.ca
Champlain (11)  Tara Cohen tcohen@champlainpalliative.ca
North Simcoe Muskoka (12) Amy Pritizer amy@hospicesimcoe.ca
North Simcoe Muskoka (12) Rebecca Ellerson rellerson.hospiceh@vianet.ca
North Simcoe Muskoka (12) Karen Shirriff Karen@nsmhpcn.ca
North East (13) Erin Neufeld eneufeld@esphosp.on.ca
North East (13) Jennifer Gosselin jegosselin@sjsudbury.ca
North East (13) Jessica Caux jcaux@wpshc.com
North East (13) Michelle Crepeau michelle.crepeau@lhins.on.ca
North East (13)  Phyllis Paradis pparadis@esphosp.on.ca
North East (13)  Debbie Collins-Maskell collinsd@sah.on.ca
North East (13)  Lisa Chandler chandlerl@archhospice.ca
North East (13)  Betty Smallwood bsmallwood@kdhospital.com
North West (14)  Jill Marcella marcellj@tbh.net
North West (14) Kimberly Ramsbottom kramsbot@lakeheadu.ca
North West (14)  Dawn Dysievick blondiedys@icloud.com